Talent A-Plenty in New HP Eventing Squads

Talent A-Plenty in New HP Eventing Squads


COVID brought an extra challenge for New Zealand eventers chasing spots on the ESNZ High Performance squads, however there is a swathe of talent in the newly-announced lists.

High performance general manager Jock Paget says it was encouraging to see so many combinations on the High Performance and High Performance Futures squads leading into the postponed Tokyo Olympic Games.

“It has been a tough year for everyone in many ways but particularly for gaining selection onto a squad given there haven’t been many opportunities to show form,” he said.

In congratulating those who had made squads, alongside their owners and teams, he had a few words for those who had not this time round. “For those who didn’t reach their selections goals this time round, I encourage you to keep working hard and we hope to see you lining up for the next squad announcements.”

His sentiments are reiterated by ESNZ high performance eventing manager Graeme Thom. “I cannot say enough about the efforts everyone has made during this trying time.,” says Graeme. “Our riders have been immeasurably supported by their owners. Our support team of coaches and horse health professionals have been making every effort possible to make things happen.”

And everyone was looking forward to a “re-born year of competition” with fingers crossed. “The upcoming year will see further intensity in training with a goal to attend global competitions in our run up to Tokyo. The encouragement, guidance and support from High Performance Sport New Zealand over the past year and into the future is inspirational. That we have been able to expand our squad is a testimony to the combined forces of all these groups and I share in everyone’s applause for those riders who have made this happen”

The High Performance Squad sees a trio of very familiar faces and horses. Clarke Johnstone and Balmoral Sensation, along with Tim and Jonelle Price with eight horses between them form the High Performance Squad. Tim has been named again with Ascona M, Bango, Ringwood Sky Boy and Xavier Faer, with Wesko moving up from the futures squad, while Jonelle is in again aboard Classic Moet and Faerie Dianimo, and her more recent ride Grovine de Reve.

The High Performance Futures Squad is a mixture of onshore and offshore based athletes with James Avery new to the list aboard Mr Sneezy with Jesse Campbell bringing up Diachello, Jonelle aboard McClaren and Grappa Nera, Monica Oakley with Artist and Bundy Philpott on Tresca NZPH.

They join Amanda Pottinger on Just Kidding, Caroline Powell with On the Brash, Clarke on Aces High, Dan Jocelyn on Blackthorn Cruise, James with One of a Kind, Jesse and Cleveland, Maddison Crowe aboard Waitangi Pinterest, Monica and Acrobat and Tim on Falco.

The High Performance Potential has attracted five new riders in Tayla Mason, Hollie Swaine, Abby Lawrence, Lucy Jackson and Christen Lane who join Bruce Haskell, Donna Edwards-Smith, Ginny Thompson, Joe Myer, Matthew Grayling, Nick Brooks and Renee Faulkner.

High Performance Squad

Rider Horse Owners
Clarke Johnstone Balmoral Sensation Johnstone Family
Jonelle Price Classic Moet Trisha Rickards and Jonelle Price
Jonelle Price Faerie Dianimo Trisha Rickards, Jacky Green and Jonelle Price
Jonelle Price Grovine de Reve Therese Miller, Jo Preston-Hunt and Philip Hunt
Tim Price Ascona M Suzanne Houchin, Lucy & Ben Sangster and Sir Peter Vela
Tim Price Bango Numero Uno Syndicate
Tim Price Ringwood Sky Boy Robert Taylor, Varenna Allen and Tim Price
Tim Price Xavier Faer Trisha Rickards, Nigella Hall and Tim Price
Tim Price Wesko The Windrush Equestrian Foundation



High Performance Futures Squad

Rider Horse Owners
Amanda Pottinger Just Kidding The Pottinger Family
Bundy Philpott Tresca NZPH Bryan Philpott and Bundy Philpott
Caroline Powell On The Brash Sarah Tobey and Sue Smiley
Clarke Johnstone Aces High Johnstone Family
Dan Jocelyn Blackthorn Cruise Panda Christie and Dan Jocelyn
James Avery One of A Kind Hazel and Chloe Livesey and James Avery
James Avery Mr Sneezy Tiny Clapham, Heidi Woodhead and James Avery
Jesse Campbell Cleveland Kent Gardner and Jesse Campbell
Jesse Campbell Diachello Kent Gardner and Jesse Campbell
Jonelle Price McClaren David and Katherine Thomson
Jonelle Price Grappa Nera The Grape Syndicate and Jonelle Price
Maddison Crowe Waitangi Pinterest Crowe Family
Monica Oakley Acrobat Monica Oakley
Monica Oakley Artist Monica Oakley
Tim Price Falco Sue Benson, Jackie Oliver and Tim Price


High Performance Potential Squad

Rider Area/Country
Abby Lawrence Te Puke
Bruce Haskell UK
Christen Lane Hawkes Bay
Donna Edwards-Smith Te Kauwhata
Ginny Thompson UK
Hollie Swain UK
Joe Meyer USA
Lucy Jackson UK
Matthew Grayling Taranaki
Nick Brooks UK/Cambridge
Renee Faulkner Papakura
Tayla Mason UK


Talent Development

Rider Area/Country
Abigail Long Levin
Beth Wilson Papakura
Vicky Browne-Cole Waiuku
Lucy Turner Christchurch


Talent ID

NOTE: This was a review of the current Talent ID Squad members. Those riders that have recently applied for 2021 will be considered for selection during the half year squad review following the National 3DE

Rider Area/Country
Alena Dorotich Auckland
Brittany Fowler Canterbury
Kelli Frewin Hastings
Rosa Millar Darfield

By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison
January 11th 2021


Explore the latest horses and ponies for sale

Evolution Equestrian only advertises high quality horses and ponies that have been appraised by our selected experts, check out our unique digital scoring graph!